Day Four:

January 4th 2018.

‘Life always offers you a second chance, it’s called tomorrow.’

Happy:

‘A new year is always the perfect time to try new things. Try something- however small.’

20180104_160055.jpg

Todays task in Fearne Cotton’s Journal is to try something new and this links with my other challenge for 2018. In my 12 Month Resolution Plan, the month of May is when i’m tasked with doing something I’ve never done before. In a book I read over christmas ‘How I Changed My Life In A Year’- Shelley Wilson she tackled things such as; zip wiring in a forest, but I don’t think I’m going to be that extreme.

‘Trying something new’ personally will involve changing my response to difficult situations, try and approach everything with a positive attitude and embrace the love from my family and friends.

#365DaysOfHappiness:

My post on Instagram today was about reading. This was an unexpected happiness because I never usually read anything! I found a lot of joy reading James Arthur’s Autobiography.

instasize_180104164930

James Arthur Review.

Anybody that knows me, knows that I love James Arthur- not in a creepy ‘fan girl’ kind of way but I love his story, I love how he beat mental illness and addiction and I love that he proved everyone wrong and got back on top!

This is why I connect with him on so many levels.

We have both hit rock bottom- maybe in different ways- but rock bottom is rock bottom. No matter how you look at it. Finding that little bit of strength in something you love doing helps you to carry on. His was music, mine is writing. I never really thought that writing a Blog would change my outlook on life. But keeping a journal of feelings and reflections really does help to overcome the little things and help to tackle the big things head on, and alone.

Hearing his honest representation of his childhood was so inspiring. The lesson I learnt was nothing lasts forever. Whether it is friendships, success or even ‘crutches’.

Crutches are things/people/addictions that many people with mental health issues rely on to get them through day-to-day life. My first bit of advice in my blog would be to never have a crutch. Having something that makes you happy is great but having something that only makes you happy when its around is seen as a negative. It’s hard to differentiate between the both. Sometimes the lines are so blurred that you forget to be happy on your own.

James discusses in intricate detail about his problems and he’s had the courage to write about it- this was one of my inspirations for the blog. Once I’d finished reading his autobiography I cried. I was unsure whether I was crying because I’d actually finished a book or because of his somewhat heart breaking life story. But I finished it and felt like I wasn’t alone.

At the end of his book he lists things that help with anxiety: Mindfulness, appreciating the little things, staying connected with people and following your heart.

It reminded me that having a quiet moment to yourself isn’t classed as laziness, its just simply ‘being’ in peace. It reminded me that appreciating everything I have came from my parents and one day that could all disappear. It reminded me never to hide myself away, as isolation from people that love you causes more issues. And it reminded me that ‘following your heart’ isn’t necessarily always in terms of ‘love’ but its listening to my positive thoughts and that its okay to say ‘no’.

So if there’s anybody out there that struggles with anxiety, depression or any mental health illness, I would highly recommend James Arthur’s Autobiography.

 

I.S

1 Comment

  1. Blogger2428 says:

    You talk about crutches being a bad thing to have, I like you, find myself in a similar situation to yours and find having that support of someone you can rely on to only be a benefit? Why do you feel differently?

    Like

Leave a Comment